Tags

, , , , ,

Took picture June 18, 2006 of a party hat I pu...

(Photo credit: Wikipedia)

It’s the beginning of a new year! At least, it is for me. I’m the same age as Realm is now. For ten months out of the year we are the same age. Don’t ask me why I get a kick out of that, but I do.

Before we started dating, I told him I didn’t date guys who were younger than I was. I was implying he was younger, when, in fact, he is older. It was a test.

A) Did he remember when my birthday was?

B) Would he admit he was interested in dating me?

Very subtle, I know. That’s what you get from a seventeen-year-old, I’m afraid.

He replied, “I’m glad I’m older than you, then.”

“Are you sure?” I teased, grinning. It became our joke while we were dating. We kept it up, saying things like, “…you know, since I’m older than you.”

So, every year for the two months he is officially older, Realm reminds me almost daily, “See? I’m older than you.”

His two months of crowing are up for this year, which means there might be a note on his mirror that says something like, “Look who’s older now!”

