Not-So-Smooth Sailing

It’s spring! Spring comes in an array of colors and allergy symptoms. During this time, something in my inner ear likes to swell. It leaves me with the sensation that a boat is rocking, and I’m in it. I hang onto the walls, hoping the storm abates. When it’s in both ears, it usually comes with nausea. That’s when I opt for the meds. This time it’s only in one ear, so the symptom-to side-effect scale is tipped toward trying to ignore it and plowing through. I find I’m plowing through to the left.

You’d think all of this lopsided veering would keep me working at my desk more regularly. No, I find it’s like being in a moving car for two hours studying phone numbers at 8 pt font. Mostly, I have to take my writing time in short spurts. This has been very effective motivation for novel-writing! Knowing I can’t stay with it long, I type with the intent of going back and filling in the blanks later. It’s amazing how much I accomplish when the editor and the researcher in me are not allowed to gang up on a good story! So, hoist the mainsail. I’m on board with this.

Author: Rilla Z

I'm a scribbler. I'm genuine. Sometimes I'm too genuine. My topics of interest are: this world, the worlds inside my head, and the world to come. Oh, and cups of tea. Yes, I write about my cups of tea.

9 thoughts on “Not-So-Smooth Sailing”

  1. Focused time really can be productive. I’m dealing with lower back issues this week that won’t let me sit at a desk for long. So, like you, I’m trying to make the most of it when I can.

    When life hands us lemons….. Right?

    Like

    1. It’s like you and I are on the same wavelength. I, too, have been struggling with my back all week. Makes writing a physical challenge rather than a mental one. Aarrghhh!

      Like

      1. I wish I knew what the heck I did. I was fine Monday morning when I got out of bed. But by the time I got in the car for work, my lower back was locked up. It’s sloowly easing, but man! Hope yours is getting better!

        Like

    1. That’s kinda of what Chris Baty, the NaNoWriMo guy, talks about. When I set aside time to write, I drag my feet. When I don’t have the time, or something looks like it could prevent me, I become super inspired.

      Like

Your thoughts are appreciated. No profanity please.

