My Inner Editor and Me

I’ve been thinking about posting. That’s about it. I’ve jotted down a few things, but they haven’t moved out of the idea file. You know, I have lines like “my worst vocabulary mistakes” and “theory about characterization development – robotics.” I know what I want to write, but I have a priority list with 15 lines, and “blog goals” is number 16. I’d love to knock something out of a slot and move the blog up. Actually, I’d like to be getting items #13 thru #15 done.

I feel like I’m in total chaos. School started at the beginning of August. I think I told you, I home educate. I’m ready to clone myself, only I prefer someone with less of a Type A personality. Come to think of it, if I cloned myself, I’d hate me. I’m way too demanding.

Writing my book is in my top 15. I give myself thirty minutes to work on a scene from the sequel and thirty minutes to work on revisions to Dragonfly Prince. I’ve read Baty’s NaNoWriMo book, where it suggests ignoring your inner editor. In this hectic time, I need to do that and just write. The best I’ve been able to do is argue with my inner editor.

Inner Editor: This is terrible. What do you think this is accomplishing?

RillaWriter: I’m writing. Just let me write.

Inner Ed: It’s not writing. It’s a waste of a good thirty minutes.

RWriter: It’s not a waste. I’m going to go back once the first draft is finished. I’m going to totally rework it.

Inner Ed: Rework what? You have nothing here. The dialogue, the description…they are stunted and unnatural. There is nothing here to salvage.

RWriter: Look, this is my first time doing this. Humor me, alright? Look at it as an experiment. You love experiments! Let’s see what we’ll get out of this.

Inner Ed: And a month or two down the road, you’re going to see I’m right.

RWriter: Then shut-up and let me learn the lesson already!

We are not happy with each other, my inner editor and me. So I know a clone is out of the question.

Author: Rilla Z

I'm a scribbler. I write about this world, the worlds inside my head, and the world to come.

8 thoughts on “My Inner Editor and Me”

  1. Funny to come across this, because I just finished writing my Thursday post about five minutes ago, and a portion includes an inner dialogue with myself. Which goes to show we all endure these negative inner voices. There’s safety in numbers, I guess. 🙂

    Like

  2. Sometimes that inner editor should be heeded. But when first getting the ideas down—not so much. Stick to your guns. You’re taking the right approach, and old IE can wait his turn. 🙂

    Like

    1. Well, um, I haven’t stuck to my guns. I’ve taken a step back from the sequel to focus on the first again. I’ll get there though, if I have to tie up Inner Ed by his literary toenails. Thanks.

      Like

  3. I love it when you do this. I remember another post about word count. You do this well. You’re inspiration for me. I’m an empty-nester, Haven’t had children around for a bit. My problem is myself – constantly running out of steam/inspiration. At least you’re trying to write. All I’ve been able to do is my blog post once a week.
    Veronica

    Like

  4. I’m convinced that my inner editor is my evil split-personality. It’s become so vehemently certain that everything I write is wrong somehow that I find myself in a state of constant stagnation as of late. I’m not sure if I care anymore if what I write is an abomination to the art, so long as I write something. Then again, if I actually feel that way, why aren’t I writing?

    Like

Your thoughts are appreciated. No profanity please.

