Monday? Again?

Yes, it’s Monday again. But it’s okay because this is not your plain old Monday. It’s “Thank God It’s Monday!” Really. Have you thanked God for Monday? Ever? Well, try it today and tell me how it goes.

I really am thankful. Without Monday, we’d have dreadful Tuesdays…which might bleed over into our Wednesdays. Saturdays would become Fridays…It would be tragic. And, if you think about it, Monday is a trooper. It takes the brunt of the bad moods every week. We wrestle with the inevitability of Monday as we get out of bed, and grumble about it to our friends and co-workers. Does it complain? Nope. It continues on its 24-hour trek like a good little soldier, and we don’t see it again for six more days.

While I thank God for Monday, I’m also glad I have a Creator of days to thank. I’m thankful He wants to be with me for eternity. I know I want to be with Him. When I envision Monday from the other side of the grave, then yes, I’m very, very thankful. It’s one more day to do things better, try a little harder, and give a little more of myself. I hope you’re having a fantastic Monday!

Author: Rilla Z

I'm a scribbler. I'm genuine. Sometimes I'm too genuine. My topics of interest are: this world, the worlds inside my head, and the world to come. Oh, and cups of tea. Yes, I write about my cups of tea.

8 thoughts on “Monday? Again?”

  1. Thank you for reminding me to thank God for Mondays, among other things. Every day is a blessing, but Monday needs extra consideration for being the first day of the work week. Just having a job these days is a wonderful blessing.

    Like

    1. Exactly! And Thursdays wouldn’t be filled with hope that Friday was just around the corner, either 🙂 You’re welcome for “the chuckle wrapped up in truth.” Thank you for penning that nice thought, Robin. I loved it!

      Like

  2. Okay, I complain just about every Monday, and many times on Twitter to ALL of my followers. And, yes – I know better, but it happens anyway. I’ve been struggling with your theory on it being better than being on the other side. I realize you don’t know me personally, but from reading my blogs, you (I think) have peeked a bit into my psyche and have surmised that I like to debate and/or love to think about stuff. With that in mind, I have (lately) been thinking of being on the other side. The bible says that when we die we go directly to the Lord. Although, I understand we must be thankful for the life we have been given – wouldn’t it be better to be there with Him? Just something to toss around. and, I certainly hope that wasn’t TMI.

    Like

    1. Oh, yes! I completely agree! I’d rather be with the Lord. I was thinking in terms of this world being a preparation. Job, in the midst of his intense suffering, said he wished he’d never been born. He even begged for a mediator to plead his cause. And that’s what God gave us in giving us His own Son. By the end of the book, there’s closure. After all he went through, He loved God *more.* Job won. Satan was wrong. It wasn’t what God gave to Job that made Job love Him. And God has held Job up for all time for his faithfulness. Job was tremendously bound to God, heart and soul. That’s the kind of devotion I want to have. It’s not that I don’t think I can come to feel that way in Heaven; I just think this world is meant to give me the experience of ultimate choice, and every day that I choose God I come to a greater realization of what I would miss without Him. Every day is another chance to choose to love Him more.

      I don’t know if I’m hitting on what you were discussing precisely, but I hope that makes my thoughts clearer.(Sorry this is such a huge response. I love good thoughts like this so much!)

      Like

Your thoughts are appreciated. No profanity please.

