Falkor*, Take Me Away

Today happens to be Appreciate a Dragon Day. This tradition was started in 2004 by Dragonspell author, Donita K. Paul. No, you don’t have to appreciate all dragons, just a dragon. I’m not sure if I properly appreciate the grumpy, igniting ones.

Have you ever researched dragons? It’s quite fun. In one of my dragon-curious moments, I found a great book, How to Raise and Keep a Dragon. It discusses a few of the known types of dragons, their general temperaments, and the life expectancy for each dragon type. (It varies because, you know, some are land dragons and some are aquatic dragons. Some are social and some are reclusive. Some don’t like red meat, and some will eat nothing but.)

The Dracorex Hogwartsia got me started on dragonlore. (The original skull is flatter than the link above portrays, by the way.)

Dracorex hogwartsia
Dracorex hogwartsia (Photo credit: RobDurdle.com)

Dracorex inspired me to write about Kapyn, my wyvern-influenced dragon in Dragonfly Prince. From there, a whole world unfolded, and I’ve been exploring it ever since.

So I’ll be appreciating Kapyn today—his faceted eyes with ruby glow, his two sets of wings, and his craving for the Itra stone. Even if he is a grumpy, fire-breathing nuisance at times.

*Falkor is the luckdragon from The Neverending Story, one of the coolest movies ever.

Author: Rilla Z

I'm a scribbler. I'm genuine. Sometimes I'm too genuine. My topics of interest are: this world, the worlds inside my head, and the world to come. Oh, and cups of tea. Yes, I write about my cups of tea.

4 thoughts on “Falkor*, Take Me Away”

    1. 🙂 Did you have a luck-filled day yesterday? I thought about wishing you Falkor, but that wouldn’t have made any sense to anyone reading it. So I abstained from looking insane–for once.

      Like

  1. I am a great fan of dragons and love to read about them. Even the “grumpy, igniting ones.” I never knew there was an Appreciate a Dragon Day, though. You keep adding to my knowledge of the universe! Thanks.

    Like

Your thoughts are appreciated. No profanity please.

