Also Known as “Give Your Child an Extra Hug” Day

It’s Birth Defects Awareness Month, my friends. This is a heavy topic that leaves my heart sore. We all know families who’ve prepared for the birth of a child, who would enter the world to undergo a series of surgeries. I’ve been part of the number praying for a tiny one scheduled for heart surgery or surgeries to correct cleft palate. I remember crying with my dear friend when she learned her toddler had cerebral palsy. I’ve listened with my heart full to a friend’s confidence about the struggles she faces daily in caring for her child with Fragile X.

I’ve also been blessed to see the irrepressible glee in the smiles of friends with Down syndrome. I’ve witnessed the devotion and love shining through the eyes of parents who daily fight for the life and well-being of their precious, precious child. These children and their families inspire me with their determination, strength, and faith, reminding me that there is love to be found through heartbreak—and patience to be found through adversity. And hope. There is always hope.

I’m sooo giving my children extra hugs today.

Author: Rilla Z

I'm a scribbler. I write about this world, the worlds inside my head, and the world to come.

2 thoughts on “Also Known as “Give Your Child an Extra Hug” Day”

Your thoughts are appreciated. No profanity please.

