January Learning Curve

Ahhhh. I made it. I made it! It’s the last day of January, and I’ve proven to myself I can post every weekday and not shrivel up and die. I’ve come close to it a couple of times, but here I am—cringing at typos, misspelled words, badly structured sentences, etc.—still breathing into my paper bag.

And now you want to know what I’ve learned from this exercise. Right? Right.

  • I’ve learned that it’s a nice to break away from solely novel-writing topics and write about the miscellaneous just for kicks.
  • I’ve learned I can express various moods in my blog. I can write an intensely serious post and attempt to be entertaining in the next. Maybe there’s a Versatile Blogger lurking in me yet.
  • I can scribble something halfway decent about almost anything that piques my interest—except prunes and bathroom talk. Those two just aren’t my thing, and I’m okay with that.
  • I’ve had more interaction with my WordPress friends in January than in past months. It’s nice to be online more often to give and receive little encouragements. Plus, I’m now following more great blogs.
  • The most valuable thing I think I’ve learned this month is to write like I speak. My sister read over my entries and came to my November post, Desperate Times Call for Christmas Card Envelopes. She mentioned that some of my sentences were too long to follow and “paroxysms” wasn’t a word one should toss into a blog post. I’m sure that was Inner Edie’s fault. She tends to go overboard. I forgive her, of course. She tries. It’s possible she’s mellowed a tiny bit since this exercise began. I’m afraid to ask yet.

And now I am dying to get back to my WIP! I’ve missed, missed, missed it! I’ve only allowed myself to edit Dragonfly Prince. I’m on page 206 of 473. I’ve made a good dent, and I’m feeling quite confident in the flow of the dialogue and pace of the story. In February, I hope to set the ending and prologue in order. I feel like everything else is on target.

Here at home I’ve begun a new project: a kids’ newsletter for our co-op group. Once I have that off the ground, I’ll be returning to the sequel to Dragonfly Prince, which is spinning like a top in my head, gathering details. I have the outline and some of the early scenes down already, but the new ending to the first book has changed the characters’ motivations wonderfully in the second.

And guess what I received as an after Christmas present? A new computer chair! (Notice I didn’t snap the picture in front of my messy desk. Uh-heh)

my cushy new chair (Yes, our Christmas tree was still up well after Christmas.)

I’m very happy with my new chair.

Yep, that's me. Yep, that's still my Christmas tree.
Yep, that’s me. And that’s still my Christmas tree.

My goal for the month of February is to post on Mondays and Thursdays. That way I won’t miss you too much. 🙂

Author: Rilla Z

I'm a scribbler. I write about this world, the worlds inside my head, and the world to come.

14 thoughts on “January Learning Curve”

      1. I don’t mind at all. Something about the sound of it reminds me of the titles in Watership Down. I might have to read that book again, but then Mr. Wonderful will have to hear me talk about my once pet rabbit every minute for days.

        Like

          1. We actually had six different rabbits during the time I lived at home, but only one was “mine”. Only one had red or pink eyes, the rest were brown. I love that the author studied rabbits for years and is intimately familiar with their movements and behaviors. After being around my own, I can see his moving in my mind’s eye. I didn’t particularly care for the movie, but the book is remarkably well done. I thought it was interesting that Wikipedia remarked that the author never intended any political or social connotations, but that people are always linking the book to one form or another. It has staying power, and lots of room for thought. Of course, all art is a matter of personal taste and perspective.

            I had to read the book in ninth grade, but because my sister and mother read it, I couldn’t wait that long. I got caught propping it up in my textbook in history class. Oops!

            Like

Your thoughts are appreciated. No profanity please.

