Happy April First!

Just a heads-up that I’m going to post three times a day every day this week! Aren’t you excited? I wouldn’t be, either. There is no way. So, there’s my attempt at an April Fool’s prank. Let’s move on.

Items on the Docket: 5

1. The Fan Fiction Experiment from March has its own page in the header to make the completed series easily accessible.

2. Yep, I’m still working on the last hundred pages of my manuscript. I have 65-ish pages to go. The process is painstaking. I can work for over an hour, look up, and find I’ve conquered two pages. Objective-wise, it’s on target. I am so excited about the way it’s coming along! I have butterflies in my stomach every time I work on it now. Or maybe they’re dragonflies. 🙂

3. I’ve lost my head over a fantasy adventure. I found The Lost Island of Tamarind by Nadia Aquiar at the library two weeks ago. The book cover was bright and appealing, but what caught my attention was the review blurb at the bottom. It said, “Aguiar’s exciting debut novel is a cross between Peter Pan and Lost.”

What? What! That’s my book! Okay, my book is Alice in Wonderland meets Peter Pan, and I was told by a beta that it was something like Lost. But still!

What kills me is her description of Tamarind. It’s the perfect blend of natural phenomenon and supernatural possibility. That’s what I’m going for, but I’m working from a Floridian environment—which is not really tropical. I grew up in Florida; Aguiar grew up in Bermuda. I think I hate her. Of course this means I lurve her story, and I’m super envious.

Part of me wants to be crestfallen, and part of me is so elated. It means there’s a place for my type of story. How is it possible that a book with a vaguely similar plot can make me feel more confident? Has this happened to you before?

4. I’m hoping to work on some brief fiction pieces for a series that’s been marinating in my head. The stories are becoming very insistent about being written down. Setting them up will take a few months, but I hope to post them when they’re complete.

5. This month I’ll be reblogging what I read that intrigues me. So, bloggers, remember to write intriguing posts this month! It’s not like you don’t do that already, right?

I’m glad it’s April, aren’t you? Just when I think the dreary, cold days will never go away, the sun announces to the sky and the trees and the earth, “What? You weren’t thinking of giving in, were you? You knew I’d be coming back! Now, shrug off that chill expression and smile. I’m just getting warmed up!”

Author: Rilla Z

I'm a scribbler. I'm genuine. Sometimes I'm too genuine. My topics of interest are: this world, the worlds inside my head, and the world to come. Oh, and cups of tea. Yes, I write about my cups of tea.

11 thoughts on “Happy April First!”

  1. Great post, Rilla. I’m shouting from afar – SLOW DOWN! I’m having a hard time keeping up. I just said the other day, actually this morning – there isn’t enough time. I’m either depressed about not getting that contract or spending too much time on social media or just plain tired – having a hard time fitting it all in. And, am I correct in saying you have little ones? It has to be my age, I don’t know how you do it. I think it’s so time that I give up that part time J O B and go full time on writing. Keep the post coming, I’m sweating, but still trying to read all your posts.
    Veronica
    http://www.veronicalsingleton.com

    Like

    1. Good advice. I’ve had to slow down. For almost a week everyone in my house has been sick. No more updates from me this month, just reblogs. I, too, need to get refocused. You sound wearied. I hope spring comes, invigorates your spirit, and inspires your pen!

      Like

  2. I am so glad it’s April. That being said, it was beyond depressing to see snow falling this morning. Luckily, it’s all gone now. Guess it was Nature’s April Fool’s Day joke on those of us in NE Ohio…

    Like

  3. Even though I saw the title of the blog, you still got me. I was wondering how in the world you would blog three times a day, every day for a week! My mind was reeling! It even took me a moment for it to sink in that I had been April Fooled. Maybe it’s because I’m reading this on April 2. Yeah, that’s it.

    Like

  4. The last time I read a book that had similarities to my novel it both elated and depressed me, too. I was terrified that people will say that I am unoriginal if I ever publish it, and thrilled that other people liked what I loved enough to write about. They’re two different stories, but oh, the metaphors and inspiration piece are the same, and that scares me and motivates me at the same time.

    Congratulations on getting your book closer to where you ultimately want it to be. Embrace the dragonfly flutters! You’ll make it someday soon.

    Like

  5. Something similar happened to me years ago when I was writing the novel that would become my first publication. I was horrified and crushed. I would have thrown my manuscript away. My mentor told me to keep going and not worry. He said my story would be different, even though the cover blurb sounded IDENTICAL to my plot. So I kept going, and the manuscript landed my first agent, my first sale, and launched my professional career. Not until all that happened did I read the other novel that almost deep-sixed my courage. My mentor was right: it didn’t resemble my book at all!

    Don’t give up.

    -Deb Chester

    Like

Your thoughts are appreciated. No profanity please.

