Botox to the Jaw

Thursday’s Child blog writer, Veronica Singleton, commented on my Concluding April post, “Do you sleep?” I think it was in response to my plans for the month. Am I a busy lady? I suppose I am, but I do sleep. Sometimes.

And I grind my teeth when I sleep. While I was getting my teeth cleaned last month, I talked to my dentist about how much worse my TMJ has gotten. Honestly, some days I go through the day with this band of pain stretching from ear to ear. It’s the headache shaped like a frown across my forehead. But hey, it’s nothing to a migraine, so I don’t complain. Much.

My dentist examined my jaw muscles below my cheekbones and said, “Okay, don’t clench your teeth.” I told him I wasn’t clenching my teeth. When he finally believed me that I wasn’t clenching my teeth, he said, “I’ve never seen muscles this knotted when the jaw is relaxed.”

Okay, so I grinned. I don’t know why I found that a compliment. And I may have said something about having buff jaw muscles, but I’m not sure. Don’t quote me.

The hygienist told me about a procedure using Botox to relax and retrain the muscles while using a mouth guard at night. I said, “Botox?”

“Yes,” she answered.

Botox?” I was still convinced she had her injection serums confused.

After she explained about the process of injecting Botox into my jaw muscles, I asked, “What about these wrinkles on my forehead? Can’t I just use the Botox on those instead? It seems a waste to use it on these awesome muscles of steel.” Then I flexed my jaw, like Bruce Boxleitner does in Scarecrow and Mrs. King. It was sort of a superhero power suddenly.

That day I went home with a brochure about the pros and cons of Botox and an estimate. If the cons didn’t make my jaw drop to the floor in shock, the estimate did. Of course, this loosened up my temporomandibular joint for a brief moment in time.

Here is my “Before I think about Botox” picture:20130427a

 Here is my “After I think about Botox” picture:

20130427b

I think I have less wrinkles when I don’t think about Botox.

Do you have TMJ Disorder? If so, I feel your pain. Well, I feel my pain, which is like your pain.

Author: Rilla Z

I'm a scribbler. I'm genuine. Sometimes I'm too genuine. My topics of interest are: this world, the worlds inside my head, and the world to come. Oh, and cups of tea. Yes, I write about my cups of tea.

13 thoughts on “Botox to the Jaw”

  1. Botox…wow, who ever would’ve thought. Hopefully one day they will come up with an economy deal for those types of injections like 50% during American Dental Association month or something!

    Like

  2. Well, I guess Botox has come a long way. If I were still working as a Workers’ Compensation paralegal then, I’d probably have all kinds of input, but I kind of gave that up ten or so years ago. And, I know in those (10) years many things have come about. I must say, however, I do like the before pic better. We can nix the wrinkles. You shouldn’t do that so often, remember what your mother taught you – if you do that too often, your face will stay that way. It’s a great thing to have muscles like a superhero – only not in your face. Of course, if you’re using those muscles to shoot crime fighting lazers or melting bad attitudes, then that is a completely different story. Then, yes they should be sharpened and tough like metal. Did the dentist at least recommend one of those guards? TMJ is nothing funny. Keep it light.
    Veronica

    Like

  3. You know, I’ve walked past dentist’s offices that offer Botox, and I wondered why on earth they would combine “wrinkle cosmetic treatment” with dental work. Now, I understand!

    But wouldn’t the night guard do enough on its own without the Botox? I know people who use them, and they swear by them.

    Like

Your thoughts are appreciated. No profanity please.

