Doing The Research…Naturally

While Realm and I were in Manchester, Tennessee, we drove up to McMinnville to tour the Cumberland Caverns. I’ve toured three cave systems now, and I would like to tour more. Mammoth Caves is definitely on my list, but I was looking for something less commercialized. With that in mind, we drove to a place called Mr. and Mrs. Harry Lee Carter Natural Area. I looked it up online, and, at the time, the website mentioned there were caves open to the public. There aren’t that many caves that are open to the public anymore. Many cave mouths we’ve visited have all been fitted with big, steel teeth.

Mr. and Mrs. Harry Lee Carter Natural Area was no easy place to find. The roads wrapped round and round and up and down, only to land us in front of a wooden sign with a bright yellow update tacked to it. The caves at Mr. and Mrs. Harry Lee Carter Natural Area were closed. *grumble, grumble*

White-Nosed Bats “It’s those snot-nosed bats again,” remarked Realm as we stared at the sign, crestfallen.

I do feel sorry for the bats and the bacteria they’re being exposed to by people traipsing into their caves, but I don’t think blocking off the caves is really a solution for that. The bats in the commercial caves are free to visit and spread bacteria, right?

Our tour to nowhere ended up being a good thing, though. We found a surprise just down the road from Mr. and Mrs. Harry Lee Carter Natural Area. (Yes, I love typing that name out. It’s a ridiculously long and unnatural name for a natural area.) “Natural Bridge,” announced the sign.

I’ve been to Natural Bridge near Stanton, Kentucky—which is huge. Sewanee Natural Bridge wasn’t big at all. It was super narrow. I noticed that right when I was crossing, at which point my peripheral vision had my brain doing a double take. My knees started knocking. I looked up.

“Can you believe it? I’m freaking over this little bridge!” I exclaimed to Realm, who was already across.

He looked back and said, “Keep your eyes on the step ahead.”

“I need blinders. I’m not even looking off the sides! My brain is just picking up the sidelines!”

“Focus on the next step,” he repeated.
Rilla and Sewanee NBThe area around the bridge is beautiful with lots of rocks to climb and mini-trails to explore. And the walk back across the bridge was much easier.

Now I could go into a long-winded application about how we writers can be distracted or intimidated by things that are just in our peripheral vision, but I won’t. I’d rather talk about how barring up the caves isn’t really about the bats. It’s about keeping zombies from hiding out in them when the Zombie Apocalypse comes. But that’s beside the point, as well.

The most natural question for this post is: Why am I so interested in visiting caves anyway?

The most natural answer is: My protagonist, Casey, with the help of the Dragonfly Prince, must travel through a range of caves to avoid a hunter. I’m interested in the details, like common cave structures and the relative wetness/dryness of different cave systems. It’s research. Naturally.

Author: Rilla Z

I'm a scribbler. I write about this world, the worlds inside my head, and the world to come.

8 thoughts on “Doing The Research…Naturally”

  1. That’s so cool the length you’re going through for the book’s research. I know it’s going to have such a genuine feel to it, something I always look for in works of fiction. Plus, what an adventure…very cool.

    Like

    1. And here I am thinking I really ought to live in a cave for a time to be truly qualified…to write this fantasy book. Sometimes I think I’m insane with the research side of things.

      Like

  2. Research never sounds fun to me, but I know you and Realm had a good time with your research in TN. The photo of you and the natural bridge is really good.

    Like

    1. Thanks! Just the word ‘research’ makes my heart go pitter-pat with happy anticipation. It can mean so many things, but it mostly means an adventure in learning something new.

      Like

  3. Caves can hold some amazing archaeology, too. The preservation conditions are often good, so we can find things like leather and plant parts that are rare on most sites. It sounds like you still had a good trip, even if the research didn’t go quite as planned. 🙂

    Like

    1. I love the idea of combing caves to find vestiges of the past, but liking the idea is different from doing it. It’s gotta be brutal. I’m always amazed at the sharks’ teeth, shells, etc. in the rock overhead! I would love to find cave drawings. (Not the paint graffiti sort :P) There was a little pond on entering Cumberland Caverns. The guide told us there were albino crabs living in it, but they were shy. I found one! It was quite exciting. I tried to take a pic, but my camera couldn’t handle all the variables.

      Like

Your thoughts are appreciated. No profanity please.

