Sweet Success

A quick review of my checkoff list from June:

Point 2: It happened. I had a whole week on my own…where I did everything but sit down and write. Go figure.

Point 3: June 30th was my deadline for finishing Dragonfly Prince. Well, I edited like a madwoman, chopping out chunks and chunks. I had to keep a document open to paste what I cut out because I knew I was going crazy, but it was the good sort of crazy. The ending became more succinct and action-packed because of it.

But did I finish it? I did. I did it! No lie: it was down to the wire, though. On Saturday, June 29th, I completed the last ten pages, cleaned up the paragraphs and phrases trailing at the end, and printed it all out…452 pages.

Now I’m reading the physical copy and making touch-ups. As I’m reading it, I keep thinking, How cool is this story? Then I question, Why I’m being so conceited? Is it really that good? And then I giggle to myself, answering, Yeah! It is! And the fact that I’m answering my own questions makes my opinion altogether suspect. 😛

My next goal? (So glad you asked.) Finish the touch-ups and hunt for a beta/critique partner. Any takers?

TARDIS Mk VII
TARDIS Mk VII (Photo credit: Rooners Toy Photography)

Point 4: My baby sister is married. I’m still reeling over that statement. It was a wonderful, wonderful ceremony and reception. The highlight of the wedding was an awesome TARDIS groom’s cake made by Kristen of Home Slice Cakes. It was other-worldly. I’m serious. The cake part was melt-in-your-mouth fudge-y chocolate with thick layers of rich fudge frosting. And there was no fondant involved in its creation. All buttercream artistry. Talk about true cake decorating genius. I was enraptured. I ate five pieces in the week I was home. (That’s ‘pieces’ and not servings.) So…one of my goals for July is to do more cardio and cut out the sweets. Otherwise, I’m going to be exploring more dimensions than Doctor Who.

Point 5: Did you enjoy going with me on my research trip for Book 2 last month? I hope it was a pleasant experience. I’ve noticed a good amount of blog friends are taking a break from posting over the summer. I completely understand. I’ve thought about doing it myself, but I think I need the accountability right now. Since I plan to place my book on many agents’ virtual desks this fall, I’m intent on keeping to my posting schedule each month—to the best of my ability. So, expect updates on Wednesdays. I’m still here…writing, reading, and commenting.

(Point 6 is missing. 😦 Hopefully, I’ll be able to tell you more about it later.)

P.S. The newlyweds actually called home during their honeymoon to request someone freeze some TARDIS cake for them—you know, like that top layer of the wedding cake? Request denied. The TARDIS will have no foreseeable future visits.

Author: Rilla Z

I'm a scribbler. I'm genuine. Sometimes I'm too genuine. My topics of interest are: this world, the worlds inside my head, and the world to come. Oh, and cups of tea. Yes, I write about my cups of tea.

5 thoughts on “Sweet Success”

  1. I surely wish I had been able to have a slice of that historic cake. Wedding cake is always so good, light, and tasty. But that chocolate marvel sounds too good to be true. Ah, well. Guess I’ll have to do without.

    So great that you finished DP. I would love to try to beta/critique for you if you think I’d be severe enough on you. Can’t wait to read the finished product, for sure.

    Good luck cutting out sweets. That’s hard, but I know you can do it.

    Like

    1. Well, that cake was anything but light. My sweets resolve isn’t sticking like the pounds are. I’m trying, though! I really am!

      I do need the severity. Do you have a severe side, Mom O?

      Like

  2. 1. I must read Dragonfly Prince all the way through once more. And yes….. it is THAT good.
    2. You all should have saved a piece of the Doctor Who cake for your little sister…. OR sent some to me….. Hmmmmmm….
    I am SO enjoying your blog!

    Like

    1. Yeah, we were pretty selfish with the cake. Guess what? The young lady who made the cake has just moved into a bakery! She’s in high school and booked for cake orders in the next months. I just have to brag on her.

      It’s wonderful to know how much you enjoyed Dragonfly Prince! When it’s ready, I’ll send you the new version. It’s an easier, more exciting read. Really.

      Like

Your thoughts are appreciated. No profanity please.

