Otherwise Entitled: Help

English: Ostrich
English: Ostrich (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I’ve been digging a hole in the sand and burying my head in it long enough. This is gonna be a catch-up post, and I don’t like those. I’ve been up to too much, and I am soooo behind on everything I love!

What I love:

Planning the posts for this blog, writing my new children’s fic, and finishing the Dragonfly Prince sequel. (The dialogue is so funny!)

What I hate:

Crafting one and two-year old activities for my homeschool co-op class.

I detest crafty things. And, wow, I’ve forgotten what it was like to teach that age.

For five weeks I’ve been pickled in a preschool jar and trying to stay afloat on the home front. Realm says he’s proud of me. Anytime Realm says he’s proud of me it means he’s scared to death I’m going to start crying and blubbering against his shoulder again, begging him to be the bad guy and tell me he won’t let me do co-op anymore. But he knows better. He knows the moment the words come out of his mouth, I’ll look up, wiping the snot from under my nose with the back of my hand, and say, “Are you serious? But I’m not sure I want you to put your foot down!”

And I don’t. I don’t want to give up. I’ve been planning for this class since May. I had grand dreams back then. Curious future Einsteins and Jane Goodalls would toddle to their stations and develop amazing critical thinking skills with the use of paint, play dough, and some clothespins. Montessori lives! But then they started chewing the paint brushes, and the play dough became a glob of drool (and, to tell the truth, some of it was missing). I reevaluated. It went like this:

“This isn’t working. I think cages would be better for these creatures.”

That’s when I gave up on the blue and red-dyed ice cubes and the alphabet magnets hiding in the bucket of beans.

“Let’s think harnesses,” I told my helper. “Let’s think duct tape.” She totally didn’t get what I was going for, but that’s okay. I need to save the rope and duct tape. By the end of this year of co-op, I’ll need them for my cushioned one-man room with the sign that says “Rilla is away on vacay! Don’t knock.”

Author: Rilla Z

I'm a scribbler. I'm genuine. Sometimes I'm too genuine. My topics of interest are: this world, the worlds inside my head, and the world to come. Oh, and cups of tea. Yes, I write about my cups of tea.

11 thoughts on “Otherwise Entitled: Help”

  1. Crafts for one- and two-year olds? I’m pretty darn sure they weren’t part of my days at that age! But my mother would probably have been with you on the duct tape and harnesses. 😉 My oldest brother was only three when the twins were born. Harnesses would have helped!

    Like

    1. I know! I’m supposed to be past the toddler stage! But there are these two little dears, one is about 19 months and the other is 2, that melt my heart when I’m around them. When I sit down to read with them, they take a seat in my lap like they belong there. And they do!

      I tried the little Elmo Velcro “harnesses” at a wedding years ago. My toddler twins ran laps around me in the reception area. That was quite educational. :/

      Like

    1. No talent necessary. God keeps putting new jobs in my path, and people to teach me, so I keep doing more new things. I just hope no one asks me to use scissors, knit something, or play an instrument. 🙂

      Like

Your thoughts are appreciated. No profanity please.

