Mom’s Legacy

Every mom wants to leave a legacy, something her child will hold onto when she’s long gone. Today’s my mom’s birthday, and I’ve been thinking about what her legacy will be.

I remember how my mom taught my Bible Class when I was a kid. Mom is a natural when it comes to teaching. She knows how to create a hunger for learning.  Once, she brought me in to watch my five-year-old sister playing with Cuisenaire Rods. My sister stacked the different lengths of rods into cubes on the table, and my mom whispered to me, “See that!” Her hazel green eyes sparkled with excitement. “She’s doing square roots and doesn’t even know it!”

When she’s in teacher-mode, her enthusiasm is contagious. She is super at inventing activities to bring home key concepts, always introducing a new game. Even as I grew older, I realized her talent at bringing a lesson to life.

I remember the year we fell in love with Anne of Green Gables. Mom purchased the whole set for me for Christmas, then promptly read it before she gift-wrapped it. She would ask, “Have you made it to the part where…?” as I read the series. We shared Anne, and that may be why L. M. Montgomery is my favorite author today.

My mother sang all the time while I was growing up. I can remember being rocked while the soothing sounds of her Irish alto, reverberating against my ear, lulled me to sleep. I never wanted her to stop singing.

When I’m in my final years, I know her words will come back to me. I think I will hear them in song, just as she sings to me now when I’m in the midst of a hard decision:

“Trust in the Lord with all thine heart,
and lean not unto thine own understanding.
In all thy ways acknowledge Him
and He shall direct thy paths;
and He shall direct thy paths.” (Proverbs 3:5-6)

Mom, how blessed I have been to have you as my mother! Please, don’t ever stop singing to me.

Author: Rilla Z

I'm a scribbler. I write about this world, the worlds inside my head, and the world to come.

6 thoughts on “Mom’s Legacy”

  1. My mom passed away in 2007, which is kind of why I’m here in Virginia. Anyway, she also sang, in fact when I was a child she sang in a quartet. Those were popular at the time. They called themselves “The United Echoes.” When I got my iPod the very first gospel song I loaded was Come Ye Disconsolate. In fact you can find it on You Tube -the Donny Hathaway & Roberta Flack version. I wanted to give you the link, but I was afraid the video would load and I didn’t want to do that. Thank you for those memories.
    Veronica

    Like

    1. Thanks for sharing one of your mom’s legacies, Veronica. I listened to one that said it was Hathaway’s and Flack’s version, but I couldn’t find an actual recording of them.

      Like

  2. Thank you, Lisa. That was so sweet! Mom O. is right – that IS the best birthday present! I’m glad that you have some positive memories! Sometimes a mother feels like her “legacy” will be “Clean up! Company’s coming!” and such like. Love you, Sweetie, and I’m so proud of you!

    Like

Your thoughts are appreciated. No profanity please.

