Currently Uncontrollably Bookish

I have a new addiction: free Kindle ebooks. I think it’s making my phone sluggish. How many ebooks can I download before my phone announces, “Dead” instead of “Droid”?

Right now I’m 23% into Les Miserables. I have no intention of reading more, though I’m thinking I’ll have to finish it someday. I cannot not finish a book that’s a classic, right? But, wow, it’s boring. I’m at the point where, contextually, I’m years away from grasping the aftermath of the Napoleonic wars. I’m sure I should, but it’s not happening for me. The descriptions of the region on which the battles were fought, and all the strategy that went into it, are dull. (I can’t believe I’m saying this. I thought I loved descriptions.) Anyway, somebody tell me it gets better at the 24th percentile, please.

I just finished Waiting for Summer’s Return by Kim Vogel Sawyer. It was my first try at an Amish romance, only the characters are Mennonite. The Amish part didn’t speak to me—or the Mennonite part. So, I give it 3 stars because it was quality writing and good character and plot development. Someone who likes Amish romance would probably give it more.

The Bookworm,
The Bookworm, (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I’ve read 68% of Half a Rogue by Harold McGrath. There is an antagonist that has just made his presence known by using profanity. I’m seriously irked. I half liked the story. It could be worse: I could’ve really liked the story. Now it’s taking up room on my phone, but not for long.

I’ve laughed through 21% of The Holiday Round by A. A. Milne. I don’t understand any of the golf or cricket jargon he uses, but that doesn’t matter. I read it in bites, like savoring chocolates. I’m thinking of getting a hard copy and giving it to my mom and dad. They like to read funny anecdotes together.

I’ve read 1% of The Heart of Rachel by Kathleen Thompson Norris. I don’t know what this one is about yet. I wasn’t in the mood to read it when I started it.

Delia Blanchflower by Mrs. Humphry Ward is on the top of the stack at present. I have 17% of it read. It has an interesting premise: The woman is an heiress whose deceased father keeps her from coming into her inheritance because she’s a rabid feminist. I find that situation rather ironic.

I’m not promising to continue past 7% of Everyday Foods in War Time by Mary Swartz Rose. Her fallback plan is milk, which doesn’t make much sense to me. Where do you get milk during wartime? Families in tough times resort to dry milk. I have a friend whose fallback plan is kudzu. If you live in the South, you know he’s on to something.

I enjoyed Quick and Easy Cooking from Deep Cove Publishing by somebody whose name is not on the cover and who seems to be confused about whether to go with “I” or “we” throughout the book. But, hey, I’m still going to try, “Salt and Vinegar Roasted Chickpeas” and the seasoned salmon and rice in a foil packet. Then I can delete it off my phone.

There are still 10 ebooks I have yet to open just waiting in my carousel. There is a stack beside my bed that eyes me reproachfully when I turn in, too. Oooo, and I bought a lovely 4th edition of Interpreting Literature by Knickerbocker/Reninger, Copyright 1969. Hardbound. I started reading it while I was supposed to be entertaining guests from out-of-town. That didn’t go over well.

How ’bout you? Are you feeling particularly bookish?

Author: Rilla Z

I'm a scribbler. I'm genuine. Sometimes I'm too genuine. My topics of interest are: this world, the worlds inside my head, and the world to come. Oh, and cups of tea. Yes, I write about my cups of tea.

9 thoughts on “Currently Uncontrollably Bookish”

  1. I, too, love to read, have since I was a child. I love light romances that have children in them, some mysteries. I also have read a lot of Amish books. Since I read mostly on my Kindle, I love the free books

    Love your column…

    Like

  2. For some reason, lately I can not seem to “get into” a book. I find my attention drifting and feel as if I am wasting time. If a book doesn’t “grab” me in the first chapter or 2, I just go on to something else. I must have developed old person ADD or something.

    Like

    1. I go through phases where I don’t care for certain genres, or my mind is too full to concentrate on a story. But, really, we have so many books to pick from! It’s nice to be choosy.

      Like

  3. I really enjoyed this post! I, too, do not really understand the popularity of the Amish romances.

    Mom O., I think as we get older, we don’t have as much compulsion to finish a book just because someone else said it was good. it’s kind of like when you’re young, you wear shoes that are uncomfortable because they’re so cute, but as you get older, comfort wins out! So I agree, if it doesn’t capture your interest pretty quickly, don’t waste your time!

    Except when it comes to a classic, then it’s like Rilla Z says, “I’ll have to finish it someday…”

    Like

    1. Yes, I will finish it. It took me 3 years to read “War and Peace,” and I’m glad I did. There were gems I collected from that very long story that I still reflect on. I just need a little impetus to continue “Les Mis”…and a lot of time.

      Like

  4. “Time” really is the crux of the matter for me. It shouldn’t be, since it’s just K and me most of the time, but time seems to get away from me more and more. I can’t believe how fast it goes!

    Like

  5. I thought I was the only one addicted to downloading free kindle books. 🙂 I’ve downloaded Les Miserables and still haven’t read it. And, I constantly dread the thought of seeing ‘memory full’ pop up, which is inevitable at this rate. 😀

    Like

Your thoughts are appreciated. No profanity please.

