A Picture is Worth a Thousand Trips to the ‘Fridge

My family has a Christmas tradition of using men’s tube socks as stockings. Realm’s family does not, and he finds it disgusting. I do understand his disinclination to put candy into something that actual men’s gnarled feet can fit into, but I do not understand the virtue of using those awkward, red objects that look like baby elephant booties. I’ve assured him I have no intention of using already-worn socks. I’ve tried to cajole him by pointing out the socks can be washed and worn after the goodies are dumped out (including the apples and oranges, which look so funny in the tube socks). My utilitarian pleas hold no sway. He just can’t handle my tradition.

I, too, have trouble with certain traditions. For example, I cannot physically sit through those Christmas claymation movies. They were even dull when I watched them as a kid! There were no streaming videos then, so I had an excuse. I sometimes wonder what it would be like to have to make a movie like that. Or to tell someone, “I spent this many hours moving a ball of clay two hundred centimeters today.” Now that’s a nightmare before Christmas.

The one tradition I hope will continue is the family picture card. I love getting family pictures! I put them on my refrigerator door and look at them all year round. They make me smile. And it doesn’t matter if Gerard has his eyes closed and darling Evangeline is picking her nose. So what if Lilly has her tongue hanging out? It’s natural. It’s real. It’s having loved ones waiting right there at the door when you reach for the milk.

rilla2016

For you, may the season be festive and fun;
And the New Year, may it be a happy one!

Author: Rilla Z

I'm a scribbler. I'm genuine. Sometimes I'm too genuine. My topics of interest are: this world, the worlds inside my head, and the world to come. Oh, and cups of tea. Yes, I write about my cups of tea.

4 thoughts on “A Picture is Worth a Thousand Trips to the ‘Fridge”

  1. Oh, the joy of men’s black dress socks filled with apples, bananas, & oranges! Sometimes they even had little Hershey’s Kisses mixed in. 😆

    My dad always called the claymation movies “classics”. I don’t think I’ve ever seen one all the way through, even when he recorded them off of t.v. for our viewing pleasure. 😳

    Merry Christmas, Rilla! Maybe I’ll send you a family card next year. 🙃

    Like

    1. Glad to know I’m not the only one who doesn’t watch the claymation classics. We just watched A Christmas Story (via Vidangel), and there was definitely a stuffed tube sock in the background on Christmas morning. Ha! Merry Christmas to you, too!

      Liked by 1 person

Your thoughts are appreciated. No profanity please.

